Another plaid shirt (for me this time!)

I finally made an Archer shirt! I think I’m the last sewing blogger in the world to make this pattern, but better late than never.

IMG_6512 - Version 2

The pattern went together fairly easily. I think having just made two button-up shirts for The Boyfriend helped a lot, since I was already familiar with the techniques for attaching the collar and cuffs. The only other tricky part was inserting the sleeve plackets (the technique used in the Archer pattern is completely different from the plackets I’ve made on previous shirts), but once I figured it out it wasn’t that difficult.

IMG_6531

I made a size 6 with a few tweaks. I graded down to a size 0 at the cuffs (either I have extremely skinny wrists, or the cuffs are designed to fit much more loosely than I prefer–could be a bit of both). I also added just a tiny bit (maybe 1/2″) to the hips, just on the back, which seemed to help the back lay flatter.

IMG_6514

I also shaved off about 1/4″ from the top of the armhole to narrow the shoulders a little bit (I think the shoulders are designed to be slightly dropped and loose-fitting, but I wanted the shoulder seams to fall on my actual shoulders). I’m sure there’s a more “correct” way of doing a narrow shoulder adjustment, but this seemed to work fine. I didn’t alter the sleeve-caps themselves at all (the top part of the sleeve that gets sewn into the armhole); the pattern is designed so that there is some ease in the sleeve-caps, so making the armhole slightly bigger by narrowing the shoulders isn’t really a problem.

IMG_6543

I can’t decide if I should go down to a size 4 for my next Archer or not (because there will definitely be a next Archer!). I know this is supposed to be a loose-fitting shirt, but I think I might prefer a slightly slimmer fit. It looks fine when I’m wearing it unbuttoned (which, to be fair, is probably how I’ll wear it 90% of the time), but when it’s buttoned up it looks pretty boxy on me.

IMG_6524

Next time I might go for a size 4, but with the length of a size 6 (or even a tad longer). Next time I’ll also shorten the sleeves just a tad–maybe 3/4″ or so. I’ll probably mostly wear this with the sleeves rolled up, so the length isn’t a big deal, but these sleeves did turn out a little long on me. (From reading other blogs, this seems like a pretty common occurrence with this pattern.)

IMG_6529

The fabric is from Denver Fabrics, and it was marketed as flannel…but it clearly isn’t. It’s not the least bit fuzzy. But it does seem to be cotton and it’s fairly soft and has a tiny bit of stretch, so it worked out just fine. I quite like it!

IMG_6535

I’m pretty proud of the workmanship (workwomanship?) on this. I flat-felled all the seams, so it’s just as neat on the inside as it is on the outside.

IMG_6539

Overall, I’m really pleased with how this turned out! Can’t wait to make my next one–I have some super soft flannel in my stash that’s just calling out to be made into an Archer. :)

IMG_6509

4 thoughts on “Another plaid shirt (for me this time!)

  1. All I can say is “wow.” Awesome and so beautifully done, Katie. I am working on such different sewing these days, from your lovely Archer shirt (though I’d love to try that pattern this summer.) I’m doing 12 Hot Box Dancer costumes for “Guys and Dolls.” I love all the things you post here.

  2. You are NOT the last sewing blogger to make one : ) (I haven’t yet and it’s so far down my list that i may not even get to it this year). You might want to check out my friends blog for a really fun sewalong – Lucky Lucille by Rochelle. If you’re into vintage styles, that is. And have I told you I love your labels? They’re very cool.

    • The sewalong looks fun! I don’t know if I’ll have time to actually participate, but I’m excited to see what other people come up with. :) And thanks–I’m fond of my labels too! They were a brilliant Christmas present from my mom last year, haha.

Leave me a comment! I love getting feedback. Comments are moderated, so don't worry if it doesn't show up immediately. :)