Bonnell Dress in Blue

I’d been eyeing the Bonnell Dress from Dixie DIY ever since it was announced. What can I say? Those side cut-outs called to me. Plus it’d been ages since I made a straight-up quilting cotton sundress in a novelty print.

IMG_6711

So I made one!

IMG_6705

I made a straight size 6 (and no muslin, because I like to live on the edge). The only modification I made was to lower the front neckline slightly.

IMG_6703

The fit is pretty good, although I think I might go down to a size 4 next time for a snugger fit. I’ll probably lower the front neckline even more next time, too–as it is, it sits very high, even for a jewel neckline.

IMG_6707

I was really pleased with how the side cut-outs turned out. To me, it was absolutely worth it to buy this pattern just to get the instructions for how to neatly finish those cut-outs (definitely an exercise in sewing origami). I can picture myself adding cut-outs to the sides of all kinds of things now, haha.

IMG_6713

I really like this fabric, too. It’s a Cotton and Steel print that I found at Stonemountain and Daughter. It is a quilting cotton, but it is quite light and drapey as quilting cottons go. Perfect for a sundress.

IMG_3370

I lined the bodice and skirt with gray cotton batiste. Here’s a close-up of the zipper and the nifty tag:

IMG_3372

Thanks for reading!

IMG_6709

5 thoughts on “Bonnell Dress in Blue

  1. Love your dress! It’s super cute and looks like you’ve achieved a great finish on those cut outs! I notice you’ve got some lovely personalized labels – where did you get those from? I’d really like to get some AmyMakes… ones printed :-)

Leave me a comment! I love getting feedback. Comments are moderated, so don't worry if it doesn't show up immediately. :)

