A basic black maxi

I didn’t exactly mean to take a 6 month vacation from blogging, but, what can I say — life got busy and other things (like starting a new job) overtook blogging on my to-do list. But I have been sewing (a little).

This is my most recent project: a basic black maxi dress from New Look 6282 made up in yummy black rayon batiste.

IMG_1622

I like this pattern! I appreciate that it includes pattern pieces and instructions for a skirt lining (basically a built-in slip) and a bodice lining. The order of construction makes sense and the dress went together pretty easily.

IMG_1627

The only alteration I made was to shorten the straps slightly (not unusual for me), and to completely disregard the elastic length guides for the waist and the top back of the bodice.

IMG_1607

I also disregarded the instructions for attaching the straps to the back of the bodice. The instructions tell you to sandwich the straps between the bodice and bodice lining, which results in a clean finish but makes it impossible (due to how the rest of the dress is constructed) to change the placement of the straps once you’ve finished the dress and tried it on. I just left the straps loose in the back until the rest of the dress was finished so I could try the dress on and pin them exactly where I wanted them. Then I tacked them down by hand. A little extra work and not as clean-looking on the inside, but worth it for a better fit I think.

IMG_1626

A warning: tall ladies may want to lengthen the skirt! I’m 5’5″ and the skirt length is just right for me if I’m wearing flats.

IMG_1625

It’s good to be back in the blogosphere. See you again soon, I hope!

4 thoughts on “A basic black maxi

  1. Ooh, that is lovely. I like maxi dresses, but always find the ones in shops too fussy. Unfortunately, I also find that patterns don’t go up to my size (I’m a UK 26 and 5 foot 11 inches tall). Such a shame really, because I’d love to have a go atmaking one.

    • Thanks! That is such a bummer that patterns don’t go up to your size. I wonder if you could grade this one up…it’s a pretty simple pattern, so it might be doable! And yes, I totally know what you mean about maxis in stores being too fussy.

Leave me a comment! I love getting feedback. Comments are moderated, so don't worry if it doesn't show up immediately. :)

