A Coral Scout

See, I told you I’d make more Scout Tees eventually. :)

IMG_1508

I loved my owl print Scout so much that I knew I had to make some more. I also knew, from my Wardrobe Architect-inspired musings, that I needed more solid-colored woven blouses. So, on a recent afternoon, I found myself browsing the solid-colored rayons at Stone Mountain and Daughter Fabrics. This coral caught my eye, and ended up coming home with me. (I got some black viscose too, which was also ear-marked for a Scout. I actually finished it a few days ago, but have decided that my modifications to the pattern on that version were not terribly successful, so it needs to be re-worked a bit. Ah well. It was a learning experience.)

IMG_1516

This one turned out just fine, though. :) It’s actually one of my favorite things I’ve sewn lately.

IMG_1519

Just look at that beautiful top-stitching on the front neckline.

I fall more in love with Grainline Studio patterns every time I sew one. The patterns fit me well with almost no adjustments, they’re beautifully drafted (all the notches line up, etc.), and the styles are perfect — modern, minimalist, not fussy, but still pretty.

IMG_1505

The only fit adjustment I made for this Scout was to lengthen it by 1/2″ by slashing and spreading at the lengthen/shorten line. I also added the tiny pocket from the Tiny Pocket Tank, just to break up that expanse of coral a little bit.

IMG_1518

One more note: if you’re making a smallish size (I made a size 6), you can get away with using significantly less fabric than the pattern calls for. Just cut your fabric as a single layer and put the front and back pieces next to each other instead of cutting both on the fold. Works like a charm.

IMG_1513

I’m so pleased with how this turned out! This pattern is fast becoming one of my favorites. :D

IMG_1510

2 thoughts on “A Coral Scout

  1. This is super cute and the fabric drapes beautifully. I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award as I really enjoy seeing your creations. Have a look on my blog to find out more information. Congratulations!

Leave me a comment! I love getting feedback. Comments are moderated, so don't worry if it doesn't show up immediately. :)

