Summer Bathrobe

Remember this?

IMG_3050
I finally completed the project I bought this fabric for. Super simple, but super satisfying (to me, anyway).

Behold: a bathrobe.

IMG_3204
I’ve been wanting to make myself a lightweight summery bathrobe for ages. I have a big fluffy robe that I use in the winter, but it’s way too warm for summer. I wanted something I could throw on after I get out of the shower or while lounging around my apartment on weekend mornings.

IMG_3234
I definitely wanted it to be cotton, so it would dry quickly if I wore it after showering. And I definitely wanted it to be opaque enough that I could walk around my apartment in it without worrying about whether the curtains were open. :P So, I figured this would actually be a perfect opportunity for using a quilting cotton in a pretty print. I mean, more drapey-ness would probably be nice (quilting cottons are usually a little stiff), but it’s just so easy to find pretty quilting cottons, and I don’t normally have much opportunity to use them, so…

IMG_3213
Both of these fabrics are from Stone Mountain and Daughter Fabrics in Berkeley. Being cotton, it wrinkles ridiculously quickly and easily, but normally I really don’t care if my bathrobe is wrinkly, you know? Unless I’m showing it strangers on the internet–then I make sure to iron it. :P

IMG_3221
Anyway, the pattern is Burda 7297. I mostly liked it–it’s pretty simple, which is what I wanted. The topstitching detail at the back is a nice touch, as is the fact that the ties are permanently attached to the robe rather than just strung through belt loops.

IMG_3241
IMG_3242
IMG_3233
The band along the neck and front of the robe is drafted kind of weirdly, though–the pattern piece for the band is just a long skinny rectangle that you sew along the edge of the neck and front pieces. Because there’s no shaping in the band, unless your fabric is extremely drapey, it doesn’t lie flat like it appears to in the pattern envelope photos. It sticks up awkwardly around your neck instead. If I were going to make this pattern again, I would put some thought into how to draft a better front band. For this version, I just took a couple of darts out of the front band at each side of the neck and hoped it would look marginally intentional (please don’t tell me if it doesn’t). This is a bathrobe, after all, not a ball gown. Precision sewing not required.

IMG_3208
Other than that, the only alterations I made to the pattern were to add 3 inches to the length and omit the inner tie (although I may go back and add the inner tie at some point–we’ll see).

I finished the seam allowance with a simple zig-zag. (I do actually own a serger, but it’s currently hanging out at my parents’ house, since I don’t really have room for it here.)

IMG_3243
And I finally learned how to use the “overedge” foot on my sewing machine to do this. It has two little wires that keep the edge of the fabric flat so it doesn’t pucker while you’re zig-zagging it. Genius.

IMG_3244
Also, I am still working away on the button-up shirt for The Boyfriend. After realizing that the commercial pattern I bought was going to have to be significantly altered to fit him, I decided to just start from scratch. So, I draped a custom pattern (!) for him using the method in David Page Coffin’s book, and it seems to have worked like a charm (although I’m still tweaking it a little bit, trying to get the armscye just right). Next up: drafting/copying a pattern for the collar. :)

And last but not least…I’m going to be out of town Saturday-Wednesday, so if you leave me a comment during that time, it may not be posted until I get back. But please don’t let that deter you from leaving me comments, okay? Okay.

4 thoughts on “Summer Bathrobe

Leave me a comment! I love getting feedback. Comments are moderated, so don't worry if it doesn't show up immediately. :)

