Where has all the shirting gone?

Dear readers, for the last several days I have been searching for somewhere to buy attractive and good quality cotton shirting for men’s button-up shirts. It’s been more difficult than I anticipated! Here are the results of my investigations, in case y’all are interested.

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

(And if you just want to see all the fabrics and skip the explanations, here’s the pinterest board I put together. And here’s one for flannel shirt fabrics, if you’re into that.)

Why am I looking for men’s shirting, you ask? I promised The Boyfriend I would make him a button-up shirt for his birthday — partly because it’s hard for him to find ready-to-wear shirts that actually fit him well (he’s quite thin, so even the smallest sizes are usually too baggy on him), and partly because I think it will be a fun challenge for me!

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

I looked for shirting at my local brick-and-mortar fabric store, Stone Mountain and Daughter, but didn’t find much–they have one small bookshelf-sized area devoted to shirting, and none of it really appealed to me. So, to the internet I went!

I started by consulting this post from Peter over at Male Pattern Boldness (which I found while reading through the old posts from the men’s shirt sew-along he hosted a couple of years ago, to pick up tips on shirt construction). The online sources Peter recommends for cotton shirting are Fabric Mart, Gorgeous Fabrics, and Fabric.com. I also checked out DenverFabrics.com.

Most of these had a pretty limited selection, once I filtered out everything that was too loud, too pink, or just too weird for my boyfriend to consent to wear it in public. :P I did find a few that I liked at each of these though. And they’re cheap — most shirtings on these sites were $5-$8 per yard.

Next I check out Britex’s online store. They do have some beautiful shirtings, but they’re 4 or 5 times more expensive than anything else I’d found, which seemed a little ridiculous.

And then, dear readers, I checked out the shirting section online at Mood Fabrics. Holy moly! So THIS is where all the attractive and reasonably-priced shirting went! (And no, I am not being compensated by Mood to write this. :P I wish. Heh.) Here are some of my faves (more are up near the beginning of this post) — most of these are between $8 and $16 per yard, which seems reasonable to me.

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics (Click the image to see this fabric on Mood's website.)

Shirting from Mood Fabrics
(Click the image to see this fabric on Mood’s website.)

Any other good online fabric stores I missed (with or without lots of cotton shirting)? Let me know in the comments. :)

That’s all for today! I’m off to cut out a muslin of Burda 7045. I’ll let you know how it goes!

IMG_3056

Leave me a comment! I love getting feedback. Comments are moderated, so don't worry if it doesn't show up immediately. :)

